Women's History Round Table Event:
Ames Sheldon will be at the History Center Crawford Room September 26, 2018 at 6pm
As a Minnesota historical writer, she will read and answer questions about
historical writing and research; as well as the book itself.
Alan Calavano History Lectures return to HCOC!!!
5:30pm in the Crawford Room.
September 28, 2018:
"Battlefield Medicine in WW1"
presented by Michael Eckers
Jim Sloan and the 1911 Crawford Diary
The Harold Crawford Collection has recently received an important addition. A diary kept by him in 1911 was purchased by the Jim & Judy Sloan Foundation and donated to our archives. Their ongoing generosity to the History Center is gratefully acknowledged.
In 1911, Harold Crawford was in his junior year at the University of Illinois School of Architecture. This diary records many details of his academic and social life, which provide new insights into his personality and character. This was a formative year in the life of this iconic figure in the history of Rochester. In 1913 Crawford graduated from Illinois with a Bachelor of Architecture degree. That fall he entered Harvard University’s graduate program in art and architecture, receiving a Master’s Degree in 1916. He then returned to Rochester and started his architecture practice here which spanned a half century.
His list of works includes about 150 built projects. His best known local buildings include the old Rochester Public Library (now the student center for Mayo School of Medicine) and the many beautiful homes designed by him on Pill Hill. His works are far more extensive than just these, however. In addition to more residences they also include schools, churches, creameries, industrial buildings, public buildings and commercial structures. They are not just in Rochester, but also occur in many cities and towns across southern Minnesota. Crawford retired from the practice of architecture in the late 1960s and then devoted his remaining years to his passion for watercolor painting. He died in 1981 and is buried in Oakwood Cemetery.
For more information on the subject, see Master Architect: The Life and Works of Harold Crawford, by Ken Allsen, available in the History Center Gift Shop. The drawings and other artifacts of the Crawford Collection may be viewed in the Library of the History Center. There is also a display of his paintings and some related artifacts in the Museum.
In honor of World War I, the History Center of Olmsted County is featuring "Olmsted County and the Great War." Click the image to the right to learn more about the exhibit and discover how the war affected the people of Olmsted County.
The newest traveling exhibit is on display now!!
Sep 26, 2018 6:00 PM - 7:05 PM
Ames Sheldon will speak on her historical fiction book "Eleanor's Wars". 6pm Happy Hour and presentation at 6:30pm in the Crawford Room at HCOC.
To see more programs and events please check out our Calendar of Events!
Olmsted History Center
Tuesday – Saturday
9 am to 5 p
Closed All Major Holidays.
On days that inclement weather occurs the History Center will close consistent with Rochester Public Schools closures.
HCOC Members: Free